Showing posts with label Chris Young. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Chris Young. Show all posts

Thursday, June 26, 2014

The Wheels Come Off (...Yeah...I Went There...)


If you asked me going into the series with the Athletics whether I would take a split against the best team in baseball, I would have gladly said yes.

With the way the Mets have been playing and the way they went about splitting the series, the good feelings have not dissipated.

The Mets battled at the end with 5 runs on 2 home runs: Lucas Duda's pinch-hit 3-run HR off a lefty, and another by Mr. Power, Chris Young. AND Curtis kept his ridiculous hot streak going with a 3 for 4 night to push his average to .242. THAT is starting to look more familiar.

The most concerning thing to come out of that last game is the way Zack Wheeler followed up his 3-hit shutout against the Marlins. 

With this one, the only thing you can do is brush off a 2-inning dud against the best offense in baseball and go get 'em next time.

I just don't want this game to remind me so much of THIS game.

Can't completely compare the two considering that in 2012, we had been playing much better over the course of the 1st half at the time of that failed comeback against the Cubs than we had been leading up to THIS failed comeback.

Hopefully, we don't play as miserable going forward as we did after that failed comeback.

Time for Pittsburgh in Pittsburgh.

I like that town and have to make it back there for a baseball game sometime.

Keep pushin', Metsies.

SAY. HI. TO. IKE.
LET'S. GO. METS.

Thanks for reading! Follow me on Twitter @convertedmetfan. For more from myself and others on the Mets, head over to Rising Apple. And for the latest on a Brooklyn Baseball TV Series I am developing, Like the Bedford & Sullivan Facebook page, follow on Twitter hereand listen to the research process here.

Friday, November 22, 2013

Metsian Greetings from an iPhone

Yeah, I could schedule these if I had time to write them and then do so as such, but last night and today...not so much.
So, I figured since I have this Blogger app, I might as well use it to maintain this Mets blog of the Converted type. I am working in place of the on-site manager at the Fairmont, a building at the corner of E. 75nd Street and 2nd Avenue. Am I neglecting my job right now by blogging from my iPhone? No. I'm putting it down when tenants call to put in work-orders or when I have to pass that work order onto the handyman, and other duties of that nature.

Just got word regarding the OF Chris Young signing. Besides the motivation to have every Chris Young ever to play in the Majors wear a Mets uniform, I'm fairly certain they didn't sign the low-average power hitter to start. Clearly, though, until they sign somebody who is not viewed as a reclamation project, every deal like this, or any minor league deals (which every team makes, you guys. They have to field teams down below as well), will be greeted with snide remarks and cynicism. Really, until the Mets have at least a winning season, nobody will trust anything anybody in the Mets front office and ownership says or does. It's a precarious situation the Wilpons have put themselves into as they try to hold on to the team through the Madoff scandal, losing seasons, the low attendance that brings and the debt soon due from Citi Field loans.

Man, I wish this app wasn't so limited so I could embed the Random Nothing of the Day for you. I've voiced my displeaure with the Blogger app before, but really, I shouldn't complain like some of the guys in those Seinfeld clips I post. It's just not as funny they are when complaining.

If you feel so inclined, head over to Youtube and plug in "Kramer cancels his mail." That's my Random Nothing pick for the day.

Have a great Friday and weekend everyone.

LET'S. GO. METS.

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

So, uh, What'd I Miss About the Mets Yesterday?

Well, firstly, Marlon Byrd is off the board....and to the stinkin' Phillies, his original team.

Thing is.....it's for $8 million a year!!!!

Yeah, I was a big fan of the Byrd being the word last year. He was the man. I just certainly think the Phillies overpaid for him. As does Ted.
Why?  Did?  We do that?
Why is marlon Byrd the first free agent off the board
Well, also, the Mets are apparently showing some interest in underachieving OF Chris Young. But here's what I hate about the new-age Hot Stove: We'll get all these rumors and tweets and "interested in" and "COULD BE interested in" that have some fans flipping out at every single freakin' hypothetical....and then out of nowhere, without any inclination at all, the Phillies sign Marlon Byrd to a 2-year, $16 million contract.

I miss the days where there was an actual stove involved.

Clearly, though, offense is the key this Hot Stove Season for the Mets, and that's EXACTLY what everyone in the front office keeps saying when asked.

Sidenote...NOW you decide to talk your head off, James Dolan?

Alright, let's get to the Random Nothing of the Day.

BLAH. BLAH. BLAH. BLAH.
LETS. GO. METS.


Thanks for reading! Follow me on Twitter @convertedmetfan. And for the latest on a Brooklyn Baseball TV Series I am developing, Like the Bedford & Sullivan Facebook page, follow on Twitter hereand listen to the research process here.

Sunday, September 30, 2012

Discovering History After the Reaction Loses in Atlanta

While the Mets were losing 0-2 in game 158 to the Braves in Atlanta, where the big hit seen Friday just didn't occur, my friend and I decided we were gonna watch the first of an epic journey through New York's History. He had seen it before and couldn't believe I hadn't. It's by Ric Burns, younger brother of Ken Burns. We didn't start till right after they lost, after I pulled the one bud out of my ear.  I have now seen Episode One, and it's time you do too. I understand if you are reading this and have stuff to do today, go ahead and bookmark it. Or when you get a chance, go to youtube and look up part 1 of 8 of episode One.

One day I will surely get the 18-hour box set, which originally aired on PBS from 1999 to 2003, but these first 2 hours are some of the greatest minutes of film my eyes have ever seen.

So, for those of you who have some Sunday time before Football, pull up a chair and see how we got to the New York Mets' loss to the Atlanta Braves on Saturday, September 29, 2012.



NEW. YORK. CITY.
LET'S. GO. METS.


Thanks for reading! Follow me on Twitter @convertedmetfan. And for Rising Apple twitter updates, click here.

Sunday, September 23, 2012

You Know Why? 'Cause Ruben Tejada is THAT Good.

There Jose was. Pouting to Solano as they did their own type of walking off the field. Reyes' "replacement," if you will, had just made the same kind of contact he has been making all year. Only this time, it was on the brink of bravado. Hairston only needed to trot home as the ball headed for the left-center gapper. The kid we got playing shortstop is gonna be THAT kind of player.

Who out there truly cares that Jose Reyes is no longer a New York Met? I see nothing but awesome things in the future for both this fine young gentleman that is Ruben Tejada and The New York Mets.

We might have lost an awful lot this 2nd half (and a good amount of 2nd halves for that matter) but there are certainly winning players on this team, at least in the making. The evaluation continues. But a conclusion should be made that we ain't gettin' rid of THIS GUY.

A week and a half, folks. 4 games left at home. I'll take in 2 of those. Soak it all up. It'll be real gone real soon.



WHO. IS. JOSE?
LET'S. GO. METS.


Thanks for reading! Follow me on Twitter @convertedmetfan. And for Rising Apple twitter updates, click here.

Sunday, September 2, 2012

Enjoyin' the Sweep Down by the Bay

I took a solo journey this afternoon on my Brother-in-Law's bike to Irondequoit Bay, the destination from the night before, as the Mets' Bay helped seal the sweep over the Fish. A beautiful view I will speak of soon that was only enhanced by the awesome baseball being played by the Mets.

For now, celebrate the work you all do. Have a wonderful Labor Day.

Viva La Bay.



 
LET'S. GO. METS.


(Remember this guy?! The first concert I ever went to in my adult life was a Rusted Root concert in 2003 at Irving Plaza. But my first concert ever was a Raffi concert. Somewhere in Virginia, probably at the Landmark Theater in Richmond. Probably in the 80's.)

Thanks for reading! Follow me on Twitter @convertedmetfan. And for Rising Apple twitter updates, click here.

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

"This game got awesome quick."

Tuesday's Mets Phillies game had many different places in my consciousness throughout its time on the air. I started out on the At Bat at my cousin's birthday dinner, which would sound rude, but my family's all Mets Fans (it's probably still a little rude.) They did appreciate the little updates, however. As the game got underway, I was discussing the Mets with my uncle, who has the sentiment that he can't stand to watch the Mets lose games the way they've been losing games, how he's put away all his Met gear and is all about the Giants now and how it's disgusting to hear them say they're aiming for 3rd place. I explained to him my point of view, how things are getting better, we're discovering a lot about each player on the team and it's great time for evaluation. I said to him that he should stop reading Joel Sherman and the New York Post, and he said he forms his own thoughts. I'm sure this is a cliché conversation happening between Met fans of all shapes and sizes all around this great land of ours...

But I digress. (We certainly both agree about Josh Thole.)

It was nice to see the Mets score so quickly in the 1st, but it being At Bat I didn't realize the controversy surrounding the 1st run of the ball game (not exactly controversy since the catcher clearly didn't have control of the ball.) If I had a better phone I probably would have been able to watch the highlight later, but I don't have a better phone (If I'm not careful, I'm going to digress again...so, I'll calm myself down and not go on a phone technology rant.) As the actions unfolded in the bottom of the 1st, I had a feeling Ryan Howard would hit a grand slam. I don't know if I straight-up thought it would be a grand slam or a bases clearing double or what, but I had a feeling Howard's at bat would not go the Chris Young and the Mets' way.

By the time entrées were served, Mike Baxter was sending his 1st home run of the year into the right field stands, and by the time we were ready for the check, David Wright had tied it with a sac fly. Everyone was heading back to my mom's house, but I got a head start with my little sister. It was close to her bed time and I had not felt well the entire dinner having run into an allergy attack earlier (another moment for thought-process-digression, but I'll hold steady.) I walked into the place, she went to brush her teeth and I turned on the TV. It was a commercial break, and from the last moment I had looked at the At Bat App, this could only mean one thing. So I took one more look before shutting the app down, and Chase Utley's homer typed across my phone screen. Chris Young is done.

My girlfriend and I got back to Queens and I climbed into bed for the remainder of the game, still feeling too sniffly. Kelly Shoppach has certainly gotten on my good side the past few days, and I look forward to him continuing to tie up ball games and block home plates. I dozed off a bit in the top of the 9th, and was pleasantly surprised to see Bobby Parnell have a 1-2-3 9th inning (Shoppach?) I stayed lying down until it all went down against BJ Rosenberg in the top of the 10th. Wright knows how to fight it off and bloop it, Ike getting back to hitting breaking pitches the other way, barreling through 3rd base coach's stop signs when The Duda gets his 1st hit since arriving back from Buffalo (I love to see The Duda slap one the other way over short), and Shoppach just destroying a 1st pitch fastball. This all got me sitting up, and for some reason curious as to what the Twitter world was saying.


When it was all said and done, I called my uncle to see if him and my aunt were home and to see if he knew how it ended. He was happy to hear of the final, and from there, we continued our earlier Metsian Conversation.

Finally, around 11:30, my sinuses and I went to sleep.


LET'S. GO. METS.


Thanks for reading! Follow me on Twitter @convertedmetfan. And for Rising Apple twitter updates, click here.